Updates about UP election in 2021

As long as we all awaited results for UP gram Panchayat election 2021 started to be coming in Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party and Bhartiya Janata party locked in for a neck to neck contest. The state election commission has already informed that a total of 3.1 lakh candidates have been elected unopposed in the Uttar Pradesh Panchayat election. The election commission in a statement said that as many as 3.1 lakh candidates have been elected unopposed in the panchayat elections. This also includes seven members of Zila Panchayat, 3.1 lakh members who are elected in the Panchayat election and also 2,005 members of kshetra panchayat. For the post of Pradhan of Gram Panchayat, as many as 178 candidates were also elected unopposed. According to a senior official, the counting of votes will continue till all the ballots are counted and this entire process can take up to two days.

The elections for Panchayat were held in four different phases. The first phase was on 15th April, the second phase was on 19th April, the third phase was on 26 April and the last is 4th phase was on 29th April. To cast votes a total of 12.39 crore voters were eligible to put their votes for 7,32,563 wards of 58,189 gram Panchayats, 3051 district Panchayat members and 75,855 wards of 826 area panchayats.

A total of 80,762 polling centres with 2 lakh booths were set by the election commission. The sad part about the polls was that over a hundred teachers who are deployed in poll duty succumbed to covid-19, despite holding polls amid covid-19 guidelines. The first phase of 15th April and the second round on 19th April recorded an approximate turn out of 71%. In the third phase on 26th April, around 73.5 per cent of registered voters turned out to exercise their franchise while around 75% polling was recorded in the final phase.

In the first phase around 18 districts went to the polls. These were Ghaziabad, Rampur, Bareilly, Saharanpur, Agra, Hathras, Kanpur Nagar, Mahoba, Jhansi, Prayagraj, Ayodhya, Hardoi, Shravasti, Gorakhpur, Jaunpur, Bhadoi and Sant Kabir Nagar. For the second phase, those who went to the polls include Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Bijnor, Amroha, Badaun, Etah, Mainpuri Kannauj, Etawah, Lalitpur, Chitrakoot, Pratapgarh, Lucknow, Lakhimpur Kheri, Sultanpur, Gonda, Maharajganj, Varanasi and Azamgarh. For the third phase who went to the polls were Shamli, Meerut, Moradabad, Pilibhit, Kasganj, Firozabad, Auraiya, Kanpur, Dehat, Jalaun, Hamirpur, Fatehpur, Unnao, Amethi, Barabanki, Balrampur, Siddharthnagar, Deoria, Chandauli, Mirzapur, Ballia. And for the fourth and the final phase those who went to the polls were Bulandshahr, Hapur, Sambhal, Shahjahanpur, Aligarh, Mathura, Farrukhabad, Banda, Kaushambi, Sitapur, Ambedkar Nagar, Bahraich, Basti, Kushinagar, Ghazipur, Sonbhadra and Mau.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *